My Grand Final(e)

Last day of Cuisines Across Cultures.  And, for me, last day of culinary school.  Sniff sniff.

As I’d mentioned before, in order to graduate with a Certificate in Culinary Arts, one has to take 9 months of classes followed by a 3-month externship (you continue to pay tuition during the entire 12-month period).  Since I’ve decided that cheffing is not for me, it doesn’t quite make sense for me to spend 3 months externing in a kitchen, while also paying an extra nearly $10k in tuition.  So I decided to finish things up here, start applying for food-related legal/business jobs, and see where it takes me.

Mole in the making 1But first, I gotta finish Cuisines Across Cultures.  The final exam:  Pick a food culture out of Chef L’s hat (literally) and cook one entree and one appetizer from that culture, using whatever ingredients you can find in the walk-in.  (There’s never that much left in the walk-in during Finals, since the school isn’t ordering new stuff at the end of a class segment.)  I drew “Mexico,” and (perhaps stupidly, in retrospect), decide to attempt Rick Bayless’ famous Red Mole with Lacquered Chicken for my entree, and his Chipotle Cream Shrimp for my appetizer.  Both turned out fine, though I can promise you I will never make mole again.Mole in the making 2

Mole in the making 3In Spanish, “mole” means sauce.  In English, “mole” means “you better go do some serious shopping because you’re going to need 5 million ingredients which you’ve never used before, not least of which is Mexican chocolate.”  Rick Bayless’s red mole actually takes only 18 ingredients, which is on the short side, but I can promise you it was still a ridiculous pain in the ass to make.  Among the many steps included (and depicted here):  Charring the tomatillos until they’re completely black on the outside and soft and squishy on the inside, frying golden raisins in pork fat that you’ve first flavored with whole pasilla, ancho, and mulato chilies (I’d never seen raisins puff up like that; they looked like gumballs), and simmering your final product for some 3 hours to reduce it to about 1/10th the volume.  By the end of the whole process, in which I was running around like a madman because I was given only 2 hours to do a dish that supposedly takes 4, my station was a complete disaster — frying each of the chilies in pork fat creates quite a splatter right off the bat, and by the time you’re simmering the dark red sauce at relatively high heat and purposely letting it splash all over the place, the kitchen looks like a warzone.  Then again, this is exactly why I decided to attempt this dish at school; I know I’d never have the patience to cook it, much less clean it, in my own home.Mole

Chipotle ShrimpIn contrast, the chipotle cream shrimp was ridiculously easy.  Just simmer some garlic, oregano, and chipotles in adobo sauce (the canned kind) over low heat, toss in some shrimp to cook, and ta-da.  Guess which of these two dishes I’ll be making again.

After finals, the class actually gave me a pretty serious (and touching) send-off, which involved Under-achieving Asian smearing my face with chocolate cake.  You know, it’s interesting.  Chef L and I had chatted a few weeks ago, and he’d mentioned that he thought our class was a perfect case study of positive impact group dynamics.  In the past, he said, he’d taught several classes where there were a couple serious people who really cared to learn about cooking, but their personalities were such (or were not such) that any positive impact they might have had on the class was limited; to use his words, “the clowns took over, and brought everyone down.”  In contrast, he said our class went the opposite way, because the serious cooks in our class actually brought the rest of the class up.  I’d like to think that had a little something to do with me.  I think Under-achieving Asian (who, happily, finally lost his virginity two months ago) put it best when he paid me what will likely be one of my favorite compliments of all time: “You know, I think you’re really well-rounded.  That’s what they call it, right, well rounded?  Yeah, I think you’re really well-rounded, because you could totally be a huge bitch, but you’re actually a pretty good person.”

CCA Class

It’s been an experience.  I’ve learned quite a bit on the substantive cooking side, but I’ve learned way more on the emotional side — working side-by-side with a bunch of people who, in my lawyering life, I would probably never have interacted with, much less come to depend upon and develop some meaningful friendships with.

Thanks for sharing all of it with me…

One response to “My Grand Final(e)”

  1. Nubby bunny says :

    The end of an era! So proud of you for taking a chance and following your heart!

Leave a Reply

